ICT Awards and Honors, Spring 2011

ICT congratulates its investigators and student researchers on several recent honors:

Sarfraz Ahmed has started as Assistant Professor at National University of Sciences and Technology in Pakistan.

Jonguen Baek has started as Research Professor at the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Sejong University in Korea.

Ali Hajbabaie received the Best Student Paper Award at the ASCE First Transportation and Development Institute Congress. The title of his paper was “Common or Variable Cycle Length Policy for a More Efficient Network Performance.”

Zongzhi Li won the Arthur M. Wellington Prize from the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Liang Liu received the Undergraduate Advising Award.

Scott Olson was the first recipient of the CEE Undergraduate Advising and Mentoring Award. This award is given to a faculty member each year to recognize his/her achievements in advising and mentoring undergraduate students.

Hasan Ozer passed his qualifying exam for his PhD work on “Development of Domain Integral and Generalized Finite Element Methods for Three-dimensional Analysis of Near-surface Cracking in Flexible Pavements. He is advised by Dr. Al-Qadi.

Erol Tutumluer has been named the first Director of International Programs for the UIUC Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

Hao Wang passed his qualifying exam for his PhD work on “Analysis of Tire-pavement Interaction and Pavement Responses using a Decoupled Modeling Approach.” He is advised by Dr. Al-Qadi.

Several UIUC faculty were ranked as excellent by students:

Imad Al-Qadi
Bassam Andrawes
William Buttlar
Larry Fahnestock
James LaFave
James Long
John Popovics
Timothy Stark