Awards and Honors, Fall 2011

ICT congratulates the following investigators, staff, and students on recent honors and awards:

ICT Director Imad Al-Qadi has been appointed as a Member Emeritus of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Committee on Sealants and Fillers for Joints and Cracks (TRB AHD25). TRB established the emeritus membership category to recognize the significant and long-term contributions of individuals who have provided outstanding service through participation in TRB standing committees.

ICT Research and Policy Analyst Dave King was awarded the 2011 Civil and Environmental Engineering Award for Excellence.

ICT Investigator Yanfeng Ouyang was promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor at UIUC.

ICT Investigator Jeffrey Roesler was promoted from Associate Professor to Full Professor at UIUC. Roesler also received the ACPA’s 2011 Marlin J. Knutson Award for Technical Achievement. This prestigious award is presented annually to an individual or group who has made significant contributions to advance the development and implementation of innovative technical and best practice approaches in the design and construction of concrete pavements. ACPA recognizes Jeff’s research to advance thin, economical concrete pavement systems; especially his contribution to the most advanced design procedure for ultrathin white topping overlays and the use of fiber in these mixes. The award will be presented at the 48th Annual ACPA Meeting in Indian Wells, CA in early December.

ICT Deputy Director Andrea Ruedi has been accepted into the University of Illinois Executive Masters in Business Administration (EMBA) program and has been awarded the prestigious Provost’s Scholarship. This scholarship is competitively awarded to up to two Urbana campus faculty or staff members who qualify for admission to the EMBA program.

ICT Investigator Timothy Stark received the 2011 Journal of Legal Affairs and Dispute Resolution in Engineering and Construction Best Scholarly, Feature, Case Study Paper Award from the American Society of Civil Engineers. His award-winning paper is titled “Is Construction Blasting Still Abnormally Dangerous?” and appeared in Vol. 2, No. 4, November 2010.

Daniel B. Work, Assistant Professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at the University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign, was awarded the 2011 Best PhD Dissertation Award at the 2011 14th International Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Conference on Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) in Washington, DC on October 6, 2011.

Several UIUC transportation faculty were ranked as Excellent by their students for the Spring 2011 semester:
Bassem Andrawes
Chris Barkan
Riley Edwards
Larry Fahnestock
Youssef Hashash
Liang Liu
James Long
Scott Olson
Timothy Stark