Illinois 53rd Bituminous Conference Convenes in Champaign

The 53rd Annual Illinois Bituminous Paving Conference convened on December 12, 2012 at the I Hotel and Conference Center in Champaign. This year’s conference had record registrations of nearly 300 attendees. New this year, a reception was held the night prior to the conference to give participants the chance to gather socially. The compact one-day program included the latest state-of-the-art and state-of-the-practice information in the area of bituminous development and practice.


Speakers came from in state, out of state, as well as from other countries, and spoke on a wide variety of engaging topics such as innovative solutions to improving highway conditions, the latest developments in high RAP and RAS technology, and promising developments with warm mix asphalt. Mats Wendel of the Swedish Transport Administration gave an overview of bituminous pavement practices in Sweden. The complete conference program is available on the conference program website. Professor Imad Al-Qadi is the chair and organizer of the conference.

Several awards were presented to individuals for their contributions, including:

  • Leadership in Bituminous Engineering: Jim Trepanier, Illinois Department of Transportation
  • Bituminous Engineer Award: Fred Garrott, S.T.A.T.E. Testing, LLC
  • Student Research Award: Behzad Behnia, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Innovative Research Award: Hasan Ozer, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Asphalt Institute Life Achievement Award: Marshall Thompson, Emeritus, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The date for the 54th Annual Illinois Bituminous Paving Conference will be announced shortly. Please check the website for details in early 2013.

53bit2 53bit3

Photos: Upper right—Mats Wendel answers questions after his presentation as Marvin Traylor of the Illinois Asphalt Paving Association moderates. Lower left—David Lippert of the Illinois Department of Transportation presents on IDOT project updates. Lower right—Marshall Thompson receives the Asphalt Institutes’s Life Achievement Award from Peter Grass, President of the Asphalt Institute.