TRP Chair Spotlight: James Krstulovich

James Krstulovich, Concrete Research Engineer with the Illinois Department of Transportation’s (IDOT) Bureau of Materials and Physical Research, has served as a technical review panel (TRP) chair for three ICT/IDOT projects: 

R44: Performance and Acceptance of Self-Consolidating Concrete

R27-003: Design and Concrete Material Requirements for Ultra-Thin Whitetopping

R27-139: Bridge Decks: Mitigation of Shrinkage Cracking—Phase 2 (in progress)

About the current project he is chairing (R27-139), Krstulovich says, “Ideally, this study will provide further insight into the material properties—particularly both the small- and large-scale interactions—that contribute to bridge deck cracking. It is our hope that the shrinkage-mitigating materials we are evaluating will significantly reduce bridge deck cracking, and thus provide longer-life structures for Illinois motorists.”

Krstulovich says that he appreciates the collaborative relationship between IDOT and ICT because it allows each party to make the most of their respective specialties. He explains, “At IDOT, our goal is to implement research findings to enhance the safety and serviceability of Illinois’ transportation system. Researchers build the foundation of this implementation with their expertise and access to state-of-the-art facilities and advanced testing capabilities. For example, in R27-003, Professor Jeffery Roesler and his team conducted research on Portland cement concrete inlays and overlays that allowed IDOT to develop and implement specifications for that method of pavement rehabilitation.”

Krstulovich has been with IDOT for nearly nine years. As a concrete research engineer, he is responsible for developing and maintaining specifications and guide manuals for cast-in-place and precast prestressed concrete, including IDOT’s Portland Cement Concrete Mix Design software. He is a licensed professional engineer in Illinois and has a B.S. degree from the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.