IDOT Adapts Construction Staking to Modern Technology

Published September 15, 2017

In a world that is increasingly shaped by improving digital technologies, the past few decades brought great advances in technology for highway construction and engineering. Such advances almost always aim to reduce costs and improve quality. For instance, incorporating technologies, such as the global positioning system (GPS) and civil information modeling (CIM), among others, in highway construction is believed to lead to improvements in construction quality while reducing construction time and cost.Read More

Register for the 58th Annual Illinois Bituminous Conference!

Published July 31, 2017

Registration is open for the 58th Annual Illinois Bituminous Paving Conference to be held December 11-12, 2017, at the iHotel and Conference Center in Champaign, Illinois.


The Bituminous Conference is a compact one-day program providing an opportunity for highway engineers to meet with contractors, government officials, consultants, and fellow engineers.  Professionals gather to share the latest technical information and review actual field reports in the area of hot-mix asphalt construction.

Responding to the stated needs of highway engineers, a planning committee of people actively engaged in the field has created a forum for the dissemination of current technical data and the improvement of highways throughout Illinois.

The conference is specifically designed for people actively involved in asphalt construction:  highway engineers; government officials responsible for developing, implementing, enforcing, and evaluating contractor regulations affecting bituminous construction; contractors; consultants; university researchers; and representatives of firms supplying goods and services to the industry.

For more information, please visit the conference web page and register as a conference attendee, exhibitor, or sponsor.

We look forward to seeing you at the 58th Annual Illinois Bituminous Paving Conference!

UIUC Signs New Intergovernmental Agreement with IDOT

Published July 31, 2017

The Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) and the University of Illinois have recently completed negotiations of a new Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) for the administration and management of IDOT’s contract research program by the Illinois Center for Transportation (ICT). The new IGA consists of federal, state, and university matching funds totaling over $19 million with a three-year term from July 6, 2017 through June 30, 2020.  The agreement offers one two-year renewal.

ICT and IDOT enter into their fourth agreement maintaining a relationship that spans more than 10 years, with a continued focus on providing innovative transportation research that continuously improves the safety, reliability, and sustainability of Illinois’ transportation infrastructure. To date, ICT has completed over 200 research projects with another 40 plus ongoing projects.  These research projects, conducted by approximately 150 principal investigators from various universities and consulting firms, have provided learning opportunities to over 400 graduate and many undergraduate students. The outcomes for all ICT/IDOT projects are published in final reports that can be found on the ICT website (

ICT is eager to continue providing world-class, cutting-edge innovative research through this relationship with IDOT.

Academy of Pavement Science and Engineering Launched Today!

Published July 31, 2017

Registration is now open for joining the Academy of Pavement Science and Engineering (APSE), a global academic community aimed to educate, innovate, and advance the profession of pavement science and engineering. JOIN APSE.

In 2012, Illinois Center for Transportation Director Imad Al-Qadi invited a group of academic leaders from various educational institutions worldwide for a meeting where they formulated and debated a basic vision for how to advance pavement engineering education and research and set a new course for preparing the next generation of pavement engineers for professional practice. These academic leaders are the members of APSE’s Board of Governors: Professors Imad Al-Qadi, Bjorn Birgisson, John Harvey, Dallas Little, and Tom Scarpas.

On October 14, 2015, a group of academics (see list of founding members in APSE’s Directory) was invited to meet in Chicago and discuss the formation of APSE.  The group represented a wide spectrum of academics from research-active and education-focused institutes.  They came together to review, discuss, debate and further refine a vision for the development of a pavement science and engineering academic workforce with the knowledge and skills necessary to address the needs and the demands of the multi-trillion dollar infrastructure that underpins the world’s economies. The founding members worked meticulously behind the scenes to define the group and draft its mission, vision, and roadmap as related to its three core activities: Education, Research, and Professional Development.

APSE’s activities are facilitated by officers elected by the founding members: Amit Bhasin of the University of Texas, Austin (President); Silvia Caro of the University of Los Andes, Colombia (Vice-President); Ghassan Chehab of  the American University of Beirut, Lebanon (Secretary); and Elie Hajj of the University of Nevada, Reno (Treasurer).

For more information about membership benefits and requirements and to learn more about APSE, please visit APSE’s homepage.

APSE founding members (bottom left to top right): Dallas Little (Texas A&M), Erol Tutumluer (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Jorge Pais (University of Minho), Imad Al-Qadi (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Luis Loria-Salazar (University of Costa Rica), Eshan Dave (University of New Hampshire), John Harvey (University of California, Davis), Elie Hajj (University of Nevada, Reno), Mostafa Elseifi (Louisiana State University), Hasan Ozer (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Kelvin C.P. Wang (Oklahoma State University), Linbing Wang (Virginia Tech), Andreas Loizos (National Technical University of Athens), Karim Chatti (Michigan State University), Baoshan Huang (University of Tennessee), Kevin Hall (University of Arkansas), Lev Khazanovich (University of Minnesota), Jake Hiller (Michigan Technological University), Bjorn Birgisson (Aston University), Silvia Caro (University of Los Andes), Sandra Erkens (TU Delft), Julie Vandenbossche (University of Pittsburgh), Rajib Mallick (Worcester Polytechnic Institute), Jeff Roesler (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Kamil Kaloush (Arizona State University), Amit Bhasin (University of Texas at Austin), Wynand Steyn (University of Pretoria), Tom Scarpas (TU Delft), Gordon Airey (University of Nottingham). Other founding member (not shown): Charles Schwartz (University of Maryland); Aimin Sha (Chang’an University);  Jo Daniel (University of New Hampshire); Ghassan Chehab (American University of Beirut); Lijun Sun (Tongji University).