Pavement Design, Management & Materials

Focus: The purpose of this technical advisory group (TAG) is to determine the research needs and priorities in the areas of pavement design, management, and materials.  More specifically, the group will focus on areas such as new pavement design/procedures, rehabilitation design/procedures, pavement subgrade and embankment, hot mix asphalt and Portland cement concrete materials for pavements, pavement performance, pavement management systems, new materials for highway applications, and recycling of reclaimed materials.

  • TAG Chair, Office of Highways Implementation, Central Bureau of Materials – Brian Pfeifer Brian.Pfeifer@illinois.gov
  • Office of Highways Implementation, Central Bureau of Materials – Sheila Beshears  Sheila.Beshears@illinois.gov
  • Office of Highways Implementation, Central Bureau of Materials – Mark Gawedzinski Mark.Gawedzinski@illinois.gov
  • Office of Highways Implementation, Central Bureau of Materials – Heather Shoup Heather.Shoup@illinois.gov
  • Office of Highways Implementation, Central Bureau of Materials – Dan Tobias Daniel.Tobias@illinois.gov
  • Office of Highways Implementation, Central Bureau of Materials – Jim Trepanier James.Trepanier@illinois.gov
  • Office of Highways Implementation, Bureau of Construction – Ryan Sheley Ryan.Sheley@illlinois.gov
  • Office of Highways Implementation, Regional Representative – Steve Worsfold (D4)
  • Office of Highways Implementation, Regional Representative – George Houston (D1)
  • Office of Intermodal Project Implementation, Bureau of Aeronautics – Brad Newland
  • Office of Planning and Programming, Bureau of Programming – Laura Shanley
  • Office of Planning and Programming, Bureau of Research – LaDonna Rowden
  • Office of Planning and Programming, Bureau of Research (non-voting) – Megan Swanson/Ryan Culton
  • Office of Planning and Programming, Bureau of Research – Chuck Wienrank
  • Office of Planning and Programming, Bureau of Research – John Senger
  • Office of Program Development, Bureau of Design & Environment – Dan Mlacnik
  • Office of Program Development, Bureau of Local Roads & Streets – Tom Winkelman
  • Federal Highway Administration – Dennis Bachman
  • Illinois Association of Aggregate Producers – Doug Roehrs
  • Illinois Asphalt Pavement Association –  Kevin Burke
  • Illinois Center for Transportation (ICT) Academic Representative – Hasan Ozer hozer2@illinois.edu (term ends May 31, 2019)
  • Illinois Center for Transportation (ICT) Research Coordinator (non-voting) – Patty Altstetter
  • Illinois Chapter of the American Concrete Pavement Association – Randell Riley
  • Illinois State Toll Highway Authority – Steve Gillen
  • Office of Program Development, Bureau of Bridges & Structures – Vacant