Illinois Icons – 52nd Annual Bituminous Paving Conference

Timothy Murphy with Murphy Pavement Technology, Inc., read the information below at the 52nd Annual Bituminous Paving Conference held on December 7, 2011 at the iHotel and Conference Center in Champaign, Illinois. Engineering awards were given out at the conference this year and can be found on the overview of the conference.

December 7, 1941 – a date which will live in infamy – the United States of America was suddenly and deliberately attacked by naval and air forces of the Empire of Japan. So many lives cut short.

Thank you to our Veterans. – FDR

  • With the advent of World War II, the University of Illinois campus turned into a virtual military base but equally as important UIUC was turned into an incubation facility for ideas that would help the Allies turn the tide and win the war to end all wars. Principally the UIUC was the leader in the development of synthetic rubber; providing intellect and ingenuity to combat the cutoff of natural rubber from the Pacific Rim and helped to keep the Allied military mobile.
  • 20,000 UIUC students and alumni, 600 faculty and staff went to war. Nearly 800 perished giving their time, talent, and the greatest sacrifice possible – their lives. We applaud the UIUC often and today is no different a day. Thank you UIUC.
  • Congratulations once again to our award winners today on a job well done and an award well deserved.

Industry Icons

  • Unfortunately in 2011, 70-years since the date of infamy, several industry icons passed away and cannot join us here today. I do not profess to have the ability to accurately and completely list all of the great minds in the asphalt industry who have left us this year. For that reason and if I miss mentioning asphalt figures who have also passed this year I ask that you stand and pronounce their names after the following list is read.
  • Please stand when I call the name of one of the icons whom you have had the pleasure of working with.

Illinois Asphalt Icons Who Passed in 2011

  • Connie Humphrey (IAPA)
  • Mel Kirchler (IDOT; District 1)
  • Ken Sandeno (“D” Const.)
  • Bill Regenhardt (Southern IL Asphalt)
  • Jack Lynch (Iroquois Paving)
  • Gene Lamb (Champaign Asphalt)
  • Jim Easterly (IDOT; Central Office)
  • Jim Fiala (James Fiala Paving)
February 10
March 23
June 17
Sept. 29
Oct. 24
Oct. 25
Oct. 30