Awards and Honors, Fall 2013

Several ICT investigators and students have recently garnered recognition for their academic and research efforts.

  • ICT Director Imad Al-Qadi was named the next president of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Transportation and Development Institute (T&DI). For more details about what he hopes to accomplish in this role, see the separate article in this newsletter.
  • Al-Qadi recently traveled to Tongji University in China to give a lecture. He was also appointed to Tongji University’s External International Review Committee.
  • ICT investigator Youssef Hashash was awarded the 2014 Ralph B. Peck Award from the American Society of Civil Engineers. The award recognizes an individual’s outstanding contributions to the geotechnical engineering profession.
  • ICT investigators Paul Metaxatos and P.S. Srijaj recently had their work on ICT project R27-096, Pedestrian/Bicyclist Warning Devices and Signs at Highway Rail and Pathway-Rail Grade Crossings, written about in the Chicago Tribune. The project was conducted in cooperation with the Illinois Department of Transportation and the Federal Highway Administration.
  • ICT investigator Erol Tutumluer recently co-chaired the First International Symposium on Transportation Soil Engineering in Cold Regions, which was held in Xining, China.
  • In September, Tutumluer co-chaired a workshop on transportation geotechnics at the French Society for Geotechnical Engineering’s 18th International Conference, held in Paris. At the conference, Tutumluer was named co-editor in chief of a new journal, Transportation Geotechnics, which will be published by Elsevier.
  • ICT student investigator Jaime Hernandez-Urrea won the Transportation Research Board’s 2013–14 Graduate Research Award on Public Sector Aviation Issues. For more information about his award and research interests, see the separate profile in this newsletter.
  • The following ICT investigators were named to the Spring 2013 List of Teachers Ranked as Excellent by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign: Bassem Andrawes, Christopher Barkan, Larry Fahnestock, Liang Liu, Scott Olson, Yanfeng Ouyang, John Popovics, Erol Tutumluer, and Daniel Work.