ICT/IDOT Research Project Selected as AASHTO Sweet 16 High Value Research Project

The AASHTO Research Advisory Committee (RAC) has selected their top Sweet 16 High Value Research projects for 2015 (see below), and the ICT/IDOT project Development of a Traffic Incident Management Operational and Training Guide – Phase II was selected as a winning project for Region 3! As a result of this vote, IDOT will be recognized at the AASHTO RAC national meeting in July as well as at the AASHTO Annual Meeting in September. This project will also be part of the Sweet 16 High Value Research poster session at the 2016 annual Transportation Research Board meeting next January.  

Congratulations to everyone who has been involved in this project. A special thanks to the collaborators listed below for the hard work and dedication it took to produce and implement research results that are truly useful!

Research Team: Ryan Fries – Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville and Huaguo Zhou – Auburn University (Principal Investigators), SIUe professor Yu Liang Liu and SIUe students Michael Williamson, Yuhui Qu, and Patrick Gu.

Technical Review Panel: Geno Koehler (chair), Jeffrey Abel, Kyle Armstrong, Stephen Brink, Julia Fox, Teresa Haley, Bruce Hucker, Kevin Price, Brad Risinger, Aaron Weatherholt (IDOT); Robin Helmerichs and Alan Ho (FHWA); Larry Matkaitis and Jim Watts (Office of IL Fire Marshall); Brad Carnduff, Jay Keeven and Brad Sprauge (Illinois State Police); John Benda and Steve Musser (Tollway); and Bill Howard and Joe Pedigo (Towing and Recovery Industry).

We are especially pleased to share that ICT/IDOT projects have been selected as Sweet 16 High Value Research projects for 4 for past 5 years.

To see all past High Value and Sweet 16 projects, please visit the High Value Research  Projects page on the AASHTO RAC website.

2015 AASHTO Research Advisory Committee Sweet Sixteen High Value Research Projects