Awards and Honors

Several ICT researchers and students have recently been recognized with the following awards and honors:

  • Professor Timothy Stark’s paper “State-of-the-Art Report: GCL Shear Strength and Its Measurement—Ten-Year Update,” was selected Best Geosynthetics International Paper for 2015 by the International Geosynthetics Society.
  • Professor Jeffery Roesler received the 2016 Best Paper Award from the Transportation Research Board’s Geotechnical Engineering Section (AFS00) for his paper, “Cement-Treated Bases Containing Reclaimed Asphalt Pavement, Quarry By-Products, and Fibers.” The paper was co-authored by Professor Erol Tutumluer and graduate students Jeffrey LaHucik and Scott Schmidt.
  • Graduate student Mouna Krami Senhaji received the National Arab American Association of Engineers and Architects scholarship.
  • At the 57th Illinois Bituminous Paving Conference, the following awards were announced:
    • Stephen Robinson, IDOT District 5 Materials Engineer and Acting Mixtures Control Engineer, received the Bituminous Engineer/Technical Contribution of the Year Award for leading District 5 in the implementation of innovative technology in the fields of bituminous materials and flexible pavement.
    • Jay Behnke, president and founder of S.T.A.T.E. Testing, was awarded the Leadership in Bituminous Engine
      ering Award for his excellence in the area of consultant services in materials testing and quality assurance.
    • Imran Hossain, assistant professor at Bradley University, was selected for the Innovative Research Award for his work on the thermodynamics of hot-mix asphalt production.
    • Graduate student Jing Ma received the Student Research Award for her hard work on a research study investigating the short- and long-term rheological and chemical characterization of recycled binder using reclaimed asphalt pavement and recycled asphalt shingles.